Lesson 5: Applying Construction to Animals

6:43 AM, Tuesday June 7th 2022

Lesson 5: Applying Construction to Animals - Album on Imgur

Direct Link: https://i.imgur.com/rI6OruI.jpg

Find, rate and share the best memes and images. Discover the magic of th...

Hello Drawabox,

It turns out that I don't enjoy drawing animals as much as birds or even insects.

May be I should choose some interesting ones now that I have some constructional knowledge :)

Anyways, cant wait to hear your feedback on my assignments.

Thanks as always!!!

Aarthi

0 users agree
9:14 PM, Wednesday June 8th 2022

As a whole, you've done a pretty great job with this lesson. There are a few things that I'll call to your attention, but you've demonstrated that at its core, your spatial reasoning skills are developing quite nicely, and that you're constantly considering the way in which the different forms you're combining together fit together in 3D space, rather than just as lines on a flat page.

So, as I go through the issues, keep in mind that overall you're doing great already.

The first point I wanted to call out are the few situations where your additional masses have an additional sharp corner, or other manifestation of complexity, but with no clear cause for that complexity to exist. One example of this can be seen on this cow. You've got a sudden change in trajectory towards the backside, resulting in a fairly sharp corner, but it's not actually pressing up against any existing structure that would cause that. It is pressing up against the main torso sausage of course, but that's how we get the inward curve that precedes the corner. As we come down along the cow's side, it has to transition into an outward curve, but we do this more gradually as shown here.