I'm having a few issues with understanding the lesson 1 conecpts

11:49 AM, Saturday December 19th 2020

Hello there, the name's Andounuts. I'm an aspiring hobbist artist who has started DrawABox with the intent of learning a soild core set of skills so I can do something more impressive than stick figures.

As it stands, I've completed lesson 0 and I'm currently soldiering my way through lesson 1. I've done the super imposed lines and the ghosted lines, but I'm having a bit of a pickle when it comes to the ghosted planes as you can see here: https://imgur.com/a/O2PcAVK

I'm not perfectly certain what problem I might be experiencing, but I think it has to do with the whole needing to rotate the page to a comfortable position thing. No matter how I turn the page I just cannot find an angle of attack where I can make the best use of my shoulder pivot and as such my lines suffer.

Another issue I'm having is to do with confidence and getting a smooth motion to my lines. Initially I was quite confident with with my lines, they were quite straight, but I was confident to the point that I kept overshooting my mark. By a significant margin. So then someone suggested that I slow down, but that caused my lines to ossicate like crazy. My planes don't even look like they were drawn by the same person in the same circumstances.

So yeah, that's what's going wrong with me right now. Any suggestions for improvement?

0 users agree
1:04 PM, Saturday December 19th 2020
edited at 1:04 PM, Dec 19th 2020

Hello Andounuts and welcome to DaB!

First things first: if you haven't done alreay, I strongly suggest you join the Discord server. You'll find dedicated channels for every lesson (and much more) and many amazing people that can help you. That is also the right please to ask advice about partial exercises before submission.